top of page

SHANNON'S CUTTING BOARD

Recipes

Home: Welcome
Recipes
Writer's pictureShannon Tomsheck

Hummus

When it comes to hummus, there are hundreds of variations. From pumpkin, to white bean, to avocado, and even to chocolate dessert hummus (yikes...). Just a good ol' fashioned hummus does the trick for me. So, here it is!


For me, I prefer my hummus with texture. So I don't de-shell my chickpeas and I don't puree them until they are a complete smoothy silk hummus. But! If you prefer that, you are more than welcome to it.


I know I say "this is the easiest thing ever" when describing a recipe, but seriously...this is the easiest thing ever. You throw all of the ingredients in a blender and you're done. (See below)


Hummus has chickpeas, tahini (sesame pastes), lemon juice, garlic, a good olive oil, reserved juice from the chickpea can, cumin and salt. I love adding ground coriander for extra flavor though as well.


Ingredients:

  • 1 (15 ounce) can of chickpeas

  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

  • 1/3 cup tahini

  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

  • 1 teaspoon sea salt

  • 3 cloves of garlic

  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

  • 1/4 teaspoon ground coriander

  • 2-4 tablespoons of water from chickpea can (or plain water if you are cooking your chickpeas from scratch)

Instructions:

  1. In a food processor or blender, add all ingredients except chickpeas and blend until frothy.

  2. Add in chickpeas and blend for about 4-5 minutes until it's smooth or to your preferred texture. Scrape down the sides of the blender and blend again, adding water from the chickpea can little by little if it's too thick.

  3. garnish with an olive oil drizzle and smoked paprika.


71 views0 comments

Comments


  • instagram
Follow my Instragram for new recipes and ideas daily!

CONTACT

  • instagram

@shannonscuttingboard   

bread1.jpg
Home: Contact
Subscribe
Instagram1
bottom of page