top of page

SHANNON'S CUTTING BOARD

Recipes

Home: Welcome
Recipes
Writer's pictureShannon Tomsheck

Gluten-free Tapioca Crepes with Pomegranate Syrup


Listen, I'm by far not gluten free. In fact, I love gluten. So let me preface this recipe with the fact that these are just incredible and they HAPPEN to be gluten free! For those of you that ARE gluten free, you can 100% still satisfy your love of crepes. I'm a big texture person. I love love love anything glutinous, and that's exactly what make these tapioca crepes so freaking good. I also made these dairy free as well, but you're welcome to substitute cow milk if you don't have/want to use an alternative.


This pomegranate syrup tastes like fall. It's tangy and sweet, and that cinnamon and nutmeg really rounds it all out beautifully.


You can also get tapioca flour just about anywhere. I used Bob's Red Mill brand and I got it at QFC, but you can also purchase it here. The rest of the ingredients, I'm sure you already have in your pantry.


I also used almond extract in my crepes, not vanilla extract. It's what I grew up adding in my crepes, so I just stick with it. If you don't have almond extract, though, vanilla works too! The almond extract I have in my pantry is available here.


For the pomegranate syrup, you are welcome to buy it pre-juiced in the Pom bottles or you can do what I did and juice the pomegranate. I swear my mom has all the tools...she showed up to my house with this juicer, and I actually found a use for it, ha!


Start by adding your dry ingredients into a medium-sized bowl (tapioca flour, powdered sugar, and salt. In a medium-sized bowl beat your two eggs. Add your almond milk and almond extract. Now combine your wet ingredients into your dry ingredients and stir until smooth. Let the batter rest for about 5 minutes.


Meanwhile, prepare your pomegranate syrup. In a medium sauce pan add your pomegranate juice, honey, lemon juice, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Simmer over medium low. The juice will start to thicken as it reduces, about 15 minutes.


Heat a pan (I used my trusty cast iron) over medium heat. Lightly brush oil over the pan, and using a ladle, pour the batter into the pan. These cook FAST, less than 30 seconds on each side. So watch these carefully!


Remove the crepes from the pan and arrange them on a plate. I like to fold them into fourths, because I'm fancy. Once the syrup has thickened, drizzle it over the crepes and enjoy!!!


Ingredients:

Tapioca Crepes:

  • 1 cup tapioca flour

  • 4 eggs

  • 3 tablespoons powdered sugar

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 4 tablespoons almond milk (any milk substitute ok)

  • 1 teaspoon almond extract (or 2 teaspoons vanilla extract)

Pomegranate Syrup:

  • 4 cups pomegranate juice

  • 1/2 cup honey

  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice

  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Instructions:

1. Start by adding your dry ingredients into a medium-sized bowl (tapioca flour, powdered sugar, and salt. 2. In a medium-sized bowl beat your two eggs. Add your almond milk and almond extract.

3. Now combine your wet ingredients into your dry ingredients and stir until smooth. Let the batter rest for about 5 minutes.

4. Meanwhile, prepare your pomegranate syrup. In a medium sauce pan add your pomegranate juice, honey, lemon juice, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Simmer over medium low. The juice will start to thicken as it reduces, about 15 minutes.

5. Heat a pan (I used my trusty cast iron) over medium heat. Lightly brush oil over the pan, and using a ladle, pour the batter into the pan. These cook FAST, less than 30 seconds on each side. So watch these carefully!

6. Remove the crepes from the pan and arrange them on a plate. Drizzle your pomegranate syrup over the top and garnish with additional pomegranate arils and even serve with whipped cream if you're feelin crazy!



36 views0 comments

Commenti


  • instagram
Follow my Instragram for new recipes and ideas daily!

CONTACT

  • instagram

@shannonscuttingboard   

bread1.jpg
Home: Contact
Subscribe
Instagram1
bottom of page